Fakeindianbbahu's Blog

A Sensitive and Logical Young Indian Female's Blog

How to check Pure Silk Purity…


Hi Folks ,

Yesterday I went to Chickpet , Bangalore for Pure silk Saree…

I went to all big to small shops with Silk mark…

My experience was horrible for Kanjeevaram Pure Silk…

I was astonished to see that non of the shops had traditional Kanjeevaram…All had new designer sarees…..

When I started having a look at Kanjeevaram Sarees at any shop they showed in art silk/ashna silk…and called it 100% pure silk….When I asked them to do the litmus test that is take a thread from warp and weft and burn it to see it is pure silk or not … all the sarees failed fully or partially either weft was not real silk or warp was not real silk and all the shops serially I went thru and they apologized or before the test itself said sorry that will be mixed silk…Some didnt allow the test and said all the shops sell same things …(that is true) and hence ours is pure silk ……..

I was shocked…

Except for Rs 6000 and above they gave pure silk… that too some of them were again mixed or fake…

I remember 6 yrs back when I didnt know how to figure out pure silk..which I know by now …(Thanks to Silk Board Info to customers…)..They didnt cheat except for Cauvery(Mysore) Emporium…They gave me art silk…Goons.. They used different names like resham,art silk,ashna,simple silk, or they say it is starched and will become soft in sometime…to confuse customers..They also swear for the purity..They misuse their license of SILKMARK…BEWARE….

OK so I got 2 sarees…he checked them , but i felt them rough..or not smooth..it had a nylon – plastiky feel while touching…

I took them home , then I remembered I forgot to check the warp … and the warp was some cheap nylon mix..and I felt the saree horrible , I felt cheated for my 6000 bucks… I went back today and I showed him and he apologised and changed , Now I bought another pure silk saree not Kanjeevaram and I am happy with my pure silk…

BEWARE… KANJEEVARAM Lots of mixed OR fake silk is in circulation even in authentic places…Modern Textile engineers have created so many new fake varieties that until we do the litmus test …. we can be easily DUPED…

How to check pure silk….

http://www.silkmarkindia.com/faq.htm#Q6

Take a few threads from the warp and weft and burn them from their ends. When the thread stops burning, a very tiny ash ball might be left behind.Rub the ball in-between your fingers and smell the powdered ash. If it is pure silk, it will smell like burnt hair. Silk, wool, leather and hair all burn alike and form an ash ball. In case of artificial silk, the fibers will flare and burn out quickly there will be neither ash ball nor smell like burnt hair. This silk fabric test is sure to help you while buying silk fabric.

February 22, 2011 - Posted by | culture, feminism, Indian women, silk, silk saree, Tradition | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. The heart of your writing whilst appearing reasonable at first, did not really settle

    properly with me after some time. Somewhere throughout the paragraphs you managed to make

    me a believer but just for a while. I however have got a problem with your jumps in logic

    and you would do well to fill in all those breaks. In the event you can accomplish that,

    I could definitely end up being impressed.

    Comment by Jogy Nolan | August 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Whenever buying any silk saree it is better to check properly before purchasing silk saree like its pure silk or not.

    Comment by designer silk saree | May 5, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

