Fakeindianbbahu's Blog

A Sensitive and Logical Young Indian Female's Blog

Aunties are Guardians Of Patriarchy


I read this comment on IHM’s Blog : “Aunties are Guardians Of Patriarchy ” on the post : http://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/what-is-this-big-problem-with-bra-strap-showing/

I said yes , …But have we been thinking on how to combat it ?

I want solutions , because I do not want to just crib , Almost all the time so one of the other Aunt(y) , mother , MIL , Chachi , neighbour , Sister in Law etc tries to suppress ,These all aunties and MILs and Mothers and Friends are all Women who do not benefit much or benefit after some time or are also loosing while benefiting or have taken sh*t before and are passing that on…

Can we get good suggestions … We cannot just crib , lets combat , lets change minds , lets question , lets find nice answers , lets build confidence in all who are wanting to change and come out of the suffering…

If you look at this pic closely , Solution is there for most of the aunties…
Haathi

September 20, 2013 - Posted by | Indian women

4 Comments »

  1. Koi to respond karo …

    Comment by fakeindianbbahu | September 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. I too like solutions rather than cribbing 🙂

    One thing I’ve done is made these ‘aunties’ unimportant in my life. That includes some aunts on my father’s side and my mother’s side – I’ve “lost touch with them”. I don’t live in India so I don’t have to deal with neighbors. If I did live in India, I would probably only hang out with people I like, probably from work. Even here in the US, in Indian circles, you will meet these types. I’m not talking about older, uneducated Indian ladies. These are younger, educated, wear Western clothes, look Westernized, but do Karva Chauth, and love upholding the ‘rich culture and traditions of India’. I’ve avoided these types as well – when I meet a new Indian person, they have to pass the ‘lib test’ (in other words believe in equality) to progress to the ‘friend’ stage.
    The only person who falls into this category who I cannot afford to lose touch with is my mother-in-law. I have a polite relationship with her, because she is my husband’s mother, and there is no other way around it.

    I love your comments on IHM – you always say it like it is and some of your comments make me laugh 🙂

    Comment by www.wordssetmefreee.wordpress.com | September 21, 2013 | Reply

    • I have limited my relations of my MIL too as an individual , she actually can break any family with all the nonsense she has in her kitty..

      Comment by fakeindianbbahu | September 21, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks for liking my comments , actually finally after seeing absolute crap , now I can only laugh on people as they defy all logic and talk any nonsense talk is actually laughable …

      Comment by fakeindianbbahu | September 21, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

