Fakeindianbbahu's Blog

A Sensitive and Logical Young Indian Female's Blog

And then the shame washed over me. The Big Gender Shame….


Jailbreak the Patriarchy : A Chrome Plugin …How it shows the real world..

http://www.autostraddle.com/genderfuck-the-internet-141188/

“And boi, did I notice the water. I decided to take the plug-in to this article about the new Bravo reality show set in the Silicon Valley. I was merrily reading along about Mr. Randi Zuckerberg, reading sentences such as “Kim Taylor described his start-up as based on personalized content in the luxury market for men.” And then it hit me. These people were actually women! In the technology industry! My brain said, “fah real?” I had to toggle the Patriarchy to read the “real” version of the article to be sure. And then the shame washed over me. The Big Gender Shame.

I’m a fairly gender-aware / gender-bendy person, but this plug-in had me breaking down prejudices I didn’t even realize I had, because they’d been so easy to quickly push aside. Why did I have to check on it to make sure these people were women? And why was I so surprised? But most importantly, why did I really care what gender these people were? The content in the article was more or less the same either way.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/29/jailbreak-the-patriarchy_n_3443654.html

Sucher says Jailbreak The Patriarchy has around 10,000 users, though she doesn’t know the precise demographics: She knows, though, that it’s been used in several Gender Studies classes (professors have written her grateful letters about it), and that her “community — the liberal queer-type developer — tends to get really excited about it.“”

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/jailbreak-the-patriarchy/fiidcfoaaciclafodoficaofidfencgd

 

September 27, 2013 - Posted by | Indian women

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

